Is Mississippi a No Fault State for Car Accidents?
Mississippi car accident cases can be complex. Each state has different laws that may impact your case to make things more difficult. This is especially true when determining who is at fault for the accident. In some states, proving who is at fault is more straightforward than in others.
In a no-fault state, each driver is responsible for their damages, regardless of who caused the accident. This means you would file a claim with your insurance company rather than the at-fault driver’s insurer.
In a no-fault state, there is usually a limit on how much money you can recover from pain and suffering. Working with a car accident attorney can help you with these things. Continue to know more about Mississippi’s system in auto accidents.
Tort: Mississippi is not a No Fault State
Mississippi is not a no-fault state for car accidents. It uses the fault or tort system, which means that the person who caused the accident is responsible for the damages. If you are involved in a car accident in Mississippi, you can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company to recover your damages.
A tort system in a car accident can be a complicated process, and you may need to hire an experienced car accident lawyer to help you with your claim. Not only can a lawyer help you recover the money you deserve, but they can also negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf.
Getting in a car accident is never a fun experience. But it’s important to know your rights and how the state’s laws will impact your case if it does happen.
Pure Comparative Negligence
Pure comparative negligence is the defense in negligence cases that most favors the plaintiff. Mississippi is a pure comparative negligence state. This means that if you are partially at fault for the accident, you can still recover damages, but your percentage of fault will reduce your award.
Let’s say you’re involved in an accident with another driver. The other driver runs a red light and hits you. However, you were also speeding at the time of the accident. The court may find that you are 50% at fault and the other driver is 50% at fault. In this case, your damages would be reduced by 50%.
The insurance company may argue that you are more at fault than the other driver. Having an experienced car accident lawyer in Mississippi on your side is essential to help you prove your case and get the compensation you deserve.
Penalties in MS Tort State
In Mississippi, the penalties for causing a car accident can be severe. If you are at fault for an accident, you may be liable for the other driver’s damages. These include medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering. The other driver may also sue you.
In some cases, you may be found guilty of criminal charges. For example, you may be charged if you cause an accident that results in death or severe injury. If convicted, you could face prison time, fines, and a license suspension.
Car Insurance Requirement in MS
In Mississippi, all drivers are required to have car insurance. The minimum coverage required is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury. You must also have $25,000 in property damage coverage.
It’s crucial to ensure you have the minimum amount of insurance required by law. If you are at fault for an accident and do not have insurance, you may be liable for the other driver’s damages. You may also have your license suspended and be fined up to $1,000.
Compulsory automobile liability insurance pays for damages caused by the insured driver. It does not cover the insured driver’s damages. In Mississippi, all drivers are required to have compulsory automobile liability insurance.
If involved in Mississippi fatal car accidents, it’s important to contact a Flowood car accident attorney to help you get fair compensation. They can help you understand your rights and options under the state’s laws. An auto accident lawyer in Mississippi can also help you file a claim with the insurance company and negotiate a settlement on your behalf. If necessary, they can take your case to court.
Your damages may be reduced if you are found to be partially at fault for the accident. You may be liable for the other driver’s damages if you do not have car insurance. If you get into a car accident, contact the law offices of Blackmon & Blackmon PLLC to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer.